Awards for the construction and engineering industry

Posted by Oliver Hogue on 11/04/2020
award submission writing

Industry awards are not only a chance to single out extraordinary achievements. They are also an opportunity to advertise what your business does best - whether you win, make the shortlist or just take part.

With this in mind, here’s a list of major construction and engineering awards from around Australia. However, the coronavirus pandemic has disrupted many plans, and awards are no exception.

It’s best to visit websites or make phone contact to confirm details, because right now the only constant is change!

Australian Construction Awards

The Australian Construction Awards have categories for contractors, architects, developers and local authorities. Any company that services the Australian construction, architecture or design industry is eligible. Awards are held annually in March, visit the website for updates.

CCF National Earth Awards

The Civil Contractors Federation’s National Earth Awards are for civil infrastructure, including roads, bridges, railways, marine structures and utilities. Projects are categorised into six groups from $2m to $75m. You must be a state/territory winner to enter the nationals and all Australian civil construction companies are eligible. The 2020 presentations are scheduled for November, visit your state/territory CCF website for updates.

Australian Engineering Excellence Awards

To enter the AEEA, entrants are required to submit project nominations at the relevant local level, depending on the project’s location or where the majority of work was done. Entrants for the AEEA 2020 must have completed their projects after March 2018. Submissions close June 30, updates on the website.

National Infrastructure Awards

These awards celebrate the success of Australia and New Zealand infrastructure projects across categories including advisory services to infrastructure projects, financial structuring excellence and exceptional services performed by a contractor. Nominations closed in January, however the awards have since been postponed and will not be held in 2020.

IPWEA Australasia Awards for Excellence

The Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (IPWEA) is the peak association for professionals who deliver public works and engineering services in Australia and New Zealand. The IPWEA Australasia Awards for Excellence are held every two years. They recognise the contribution IPWEA members bring to the field of public works engineering. The next awards will be held in 2021, updates on the website.

National Excellence in Building & Construction Awards

These awards acknowledge the best building projects from communities around the country and the builders that constructed them. They include residential, commercial/industrial and civil/infrastructure construction sectors. Nominations are submitted through individual state and territory Master Builders associations. The 2020 presentations are scheduled for November, visit the website for updates.

Australasian Rail Industry Awards

The awards promote diversity, excellence and innovation “for the betterment of rail”. Categories include Freight Rail Excellence, Innovation and Technology, and Systems Engineering. Nominations are open to any individual working in the Australasian rail industry and organisations operating in or affiliated to rail (in Australia and New Zealand only). The 2020 presentations are scheduled for November 19, nominations close June 26. Visit the website for updates.

Australian Water Association National Awards

These awards acknowledge achievements in the water industry. Categories include Infrastructure Project Innovation, Program Innovation and Research Innovation. To be eligible for the National Awards, you must enter the state or territory awards. Apart from the Student category, awards are only open to Australian Water Association members. The 2020/21 presentations are scheduled for February 2021. Visit the website for details of state/territory awards.

HIA Awards Program

The HIA-CSR Australian Housing Awards is for HIA members who have been named major category winners at HIA’s ten state-based Housing Awards programs. Participants enter at their relevant regional level. The HIA Kitchen & Bathroom Awards acknowledge the talents of bathroom designers, manufacturers and installers. State-based winners from 2019 are now finalists in the 2020 HIA-CSR Australian Housing Awards. Winners will be announced at a virtual event in May. Details will be announced soon on the website.

Need assistance drafting your submission?

Preparing a submission for an award is akin to writing a tender bid – you need to know the industry landscape, identify and articulate your strengths and include all relevant experience.

If you feel you need help to present your best argument to the judges, call on Bluegum Communication to write your next award submission.



Certified Bid Writer